Authors Joining Us Soon

Ailsa Abraham

Information on Ailsa coming soon.

John Jackson
John Jackson

John was born and brought up in south Manchester, before taking to a life at sea. He has since lived all over the world, from the Solomon Islands to the Falklands, Cyprus, Holland and the Isle of Man.

Now he and his long-suffering wife have dropped anchor in York. Retirement has meant he has turned his hand to writing historical fiction, with, in his own words, a strong romantic thread.

John has spent a long time researching his family tree and found a lively lot of ruffians, rogues and chancers, all of whom are conveniently dead, so they can’t sue, and who make great subjects to write about.

His first novel, Heart of Stone, was published in October 2017 by Crooked Cat Books. He is now working on another historical romance, with the next generation of ancestors.

Connect with John on:

Twitter: @jjackson42

YM ocelot profile 280718
Yvone Marjot

Yvonne Marjot was born in England, grew up in New Zealand, and now lives on an island in western Scotland. She has been making up stories and poems for as long as she can remember, and once won a case of port in a poetry competition (New Zealand Listener, May 1996). Her first volume of poetry, The Knitted Curiosity Cabinet, won the Brit Writers Award for poetry in 2012, and to date she has had four novels and a short-story collection published.

She has worked in schools, libraries and university labs, has been a pre-school crèche worker and a farm labourer, cleaned penthouse apartments and worked as amanuensis to an eminent botanist. She currently has a day job (running the local community library) and three grown-up children, and would continue to write even if no-one read her work, because it’s the only thing that keeps her sane. In her spare time she climbs hills, looks for rare moths and promises herself to do more in the garden.

Connect with Yvonne on:

The Calgary Chessman on Facebook
Blog: The Knitted Curiosity Cabinet

Nicola Slade

Nicola Slade writes historical and contemporary mysteries, all set in and around Winchester, near her home. She was brought up in Poole, in Dorset, and when her three children were young, the family spent a year in Cairo. She belongs to a local art workshop and has been variously, a PA, a Brown Owl and an antiques dealer and now her hobby is committing murder as ingeniously as possible.

Her Victorian series, The Charlotte Richmond Mysteries, is set in 1858 and features a young Australian widow who arrives in Hampshire to stay with the relatives of her late and unlamented husband. Nicola’s contemporary series, The Harriet Quigley Mysteries, is set in Winchester, and features recently-retired teacher, Harriet Quigley.

Nicola’s two non-mystery novels are the romantic comedy, Scuba Dancing, and The House at Ladywell, a multi-timeline romantic novel, both set in a fictional version of Romsey, in Hampshire.

The Convalescent Corpse is set in 1918 and will be published around the end of 2018. The first in a new series of cosy mysteries featuring three sisters trying to cope with wartime life only to find murder on their doorstep.

Connect with Nicola on:

Twitter (@nicolasladeuk)